Health alert – Coronavirus update fom Chief Health Officer 30 June 2020



Coronavirus COVID-19

Daily Update

Date issued: 30 June 2020

Issued by: Adjunct Clinical Professor Brett Sutton, Chief Health Officer

Issued to: Clinicians and the Victorian public


This Chief Health Officer update is intended to provide clinicians and the Victorian public with information about the number of confirmed cases of COVID-19 in Victoria as well as relevant public health response activities in Victoria. This update will be sent regularly.

Chief Health Officer Alerts will continue to be issued when there are changes to the public health advice related to COVID-19.

What’s New?

  • As of 30 June 2020, the total number of coronavirus (COVID-19) cases in Victoria is 2,159, an increase of 60 since yesterday’s report. 
  • Of the 64 new cases today, 13 cases are linked to outbreaks, 20 were identified through routine testing, and 31 remain under investigation. Four previous cases have been reclassified due to duplication.
  • 281 cases have been acquired in Australia where the source of infection is unknown, an increase of ten since yesterday’s report. 
  • Nine people are in hospital, including one patient in intensive care. 20 people have died, no increase since yesterday’s report. 1,816 people have recovered. 
  • Of the total 2,159 cases, there have been 1,830 in metropolitan Melbourne and 250 in regional Victoria. Several cases remain under investigation. 
  • More than 809,000 test results have been received by the department since 1 January 2020. 
  • The State of Emergency has been extended until 11.59pm on 19 July.
  • Further details can be found in today’s coronavirus (COVID-19) media release.
  • Up-to-date epidemiological data is available on our website.
  • Updates have been made to the health services and professionals section of our website for improved usability and content navigation.
  • From 28 June 2020, all returned travellers in hotel quarantine to must participate in testing for coronavirus on day 11 to be eligible for release after 14 days. Those who refuse to be tested will be required to remain in quarantine for an additional 10 days – 24 in total – to ensure they pose no risk of introducing coronavirus to the Victorian community.
  • Victoria will commence limited saliva testing in hotspots as part of department-led enhanced surveillance activities. Nasopharyngeal swabs collected by trained healthcare workers remains the gold standard test. 

Stay at Home Directions for restricted postcodes 

Given the increasing numbers of coronavirus (COVID-19) in particular locations and the heightened risk of transmission, additional restrictions will be applied to certain postcodes. 

From 1 July 2020 at 11:59 PM, residents in one of these restricted postcodes must follow Stay at Home Directions. There are four reasons that these residents can leave home: 

  • Shopping for food or other essential items 
  • Work or study, if they cannot work or study from home 
  • To provide care giving, for compassionate reasons or seek medical treatment 
  • For exercise (outdoor exercise only, with only one other person or members of their household). 

The restricted postcodes are: 

  • 3012 – includes: Brooklyn, Kingsville, Maidstone, Tottenham, West Footscray 
  • 3021 – includes the following suburbs: Albanvale, Kealba, Kings Park, St Albans 
  • 3032 – includes the following suburbs: Ascot Vale, Highpoint City, Maribyrnong, Travancore 
  • 3038 – includes the following suburbs: Keilor Downs, Keilor Lodge, Taylors Lakes, Watergardens 
  • 3042 – includes the following suburbs: Airport West, Keilor Park, Niddrie, Niddrie North 
  • 3046 – includes the following suburbs: Glenroy, Hadfield, Oak Park 
  • 3047 – includes the following suburbs: Broadmeadows, Dallas, Jacana 
  • 3055 – includes the following suburbs: Brunswick South, Brunswick West, Moonee Vale, Moreland West 
  • 3060 – includes the following suburbs: Fawkner 
  • 3064 – includes the following suburbs: Craigieburn, Donnybrook, Mickleham, Roxburgh Park, Kalkallo

Suburban testing blitz

  • A targeted blitz launched this week across ten priority suburbs to zero-in on community transmission with a fleet of mobile vans.
  • Over 10 days, residents of these suburbs will receive free testing – with or without symptoms. Priority suburbs include Keilor Downs, Broadmeadows, Maidstone, Albanvale, Sunshine West, Hallam, Brunswick West, Fawkner, Reservoir and Pakenham, with Keilor Downs and Broadmeadows identified as the focus of the next three days of testing.
  • Residents of these suburbs who do not have symptoms should not seek testing from their GP, rather they should visit a site listed on our Getting tested webpage.
  • People getting tested in hotspots who are asymptomatic and awaiting test results do not need to self-isolate. In line with existing guidance, if people feel unwell or have any of the coronavirus (COVID-19) symptoms they should self-isolate.

Read the full update: Coronavirus COVID-19 daily update




Authorised by the Victorian Government, 1 Treasury Place, Melbourne.