Gippsland Medicare Local Announces Board Appointments

Gippsland Medicare Local (GML) today announced the election of two Board members to vacancies on its nine-member Board.

Board Chair, Dr Nola Maxfield, made the announcement at GML’s Annual General Meeting held last night in Traralgon.

“I am pleased to declare the re-election of Mr Mark Biggs and Mr Ben Leigh to the Board of Gippsland Medicare Local from a field of six candidates,” Dr Maxfield said.

“Both Mark and Ben chose to re-nominate as retiring Board members, and they will now continue to bring their vast experience and skills in steering Gippsland Medicare Local into its second year of operation coordinating primary health care delivery in Gippsland.”

Mr Biggs and Mr Leigh will rejoin current Board members, Ms Susan Davies, Mr Duncan Malcolm, Dr Nola Maxfield, Mr Jim Turcato, Ms Leah Young, Ms Diane Sullivan and Ms Kellie O’Callaghan on the GML Board.

Dr Maxfield said GML would continue to focus on programs such as headspace and a more coordinated mental health service model in 2014.

“Gippsland Medicare Local is building strong rural health service relationships in areas like Omeo Orbost, Mallacoota and the Bass Coast.

“We are also very committed to working with our members and stakeholders to continue the work we’ve started in coordinating and improving the delivery of primary health care services right across Gippsland,” Dr Maxfield said.

“I am delighted that the GML Board has renewed its commitment to Gippsland’s primary health care delivery and together with our Chief Executive Officer, Mr Peter Quigley, I look forward to working with the Board in 2014.”

The Annual General Meeting also saw the release of Gippsland Medicare Local’s 2013 Annual Report and 2013 Financial Statements to members.

The reports can be accessed on GML’s website at :